High: °
Low: °
Chance of precipitation:



New Canaan students' achievements cited

The following students were named to the dean's list at the University of Connecticut for the spring semester:

Justa Bucyte, Jordan Cerbone, Gabriela Deambrosio, Katherine Martin Franzis, Judy Zhu Huang, Peter Joseph Larson, David Ian Luchs, Evelyn Marie Luchs, Peter James McAleer, Harrison Weller Nantz, Steven John Nilla, Alexa Grace Ozimek and Zachary George Tahajian.


Timothy Robustelli was inducted into the University of Vermont History Department's Alpha Alpha Psi Chapter of Phi Alpha Theta, which is a national honor society with a mission to promote the study of history through the encouragement of research, good teaching, publication and the exchange of learning and ideas among historians.


John Breitfelder was honored for his performance on a above-grade-level test given to academically talented second- through eighth-grade students in The Johns Hopkins University Center for Talented Youth Talent Search.

Breitfelder, a student at South Elementary School, was one of more than 38,000 students from more than 120 countries who participated in the CTY Talent Search.


Gabriel Ryan graduated from Oakwood Friends School. He will attend Muskingum University in Ohio to pursue a liberal arts degree.


Elizabeth Ayres Bruno graduated magna cum laude from Dickinson College with a Bachelor of Arts in American studies. She also was named to the dean's list. She is a graduate of New Canaan High.


Connor Dwyer and Matthew Harkins graduated from Quinnipiac Univerity. Dwyer earned a Bachelor of Arts in public relations and Harkins a Bachelor of Arts in philosophy.

-- Read Full Article 

Evan Shapiro graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree with honors in computer science from Carnegie Mellon University. He plans to attend graduate school in the fall at Carnegie Mellon. He has been accepted into the scholars program in computer science where he will work on the motion planning and personal robotics laboratory project.


Ashley Pacelli, a junior, was inducted into the Connecticut College chapter of Psi Chi, the national honor society of psychology, for the 2013-14 academic year. She is a 2011 graduate of New Canaan High School.


The following students graduated from the University of Connecticut:

Ronald Balzano, Bachelor of Arts in individualized business fundamentals; Matthew Bradford, Master of Business Administration; Brian Brown, Bachelor of Science in marketing; Nicholas Conforti, Bachelor of General Studies; Gabriela Deambrosio, Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Science in English; Austin Dowdle, Bachelor of Arts in economics; Katherine Dwyer, Bachelor of Arts in political science; Hunter Eldred, Bachelor of Arts in economics; Mary Farris, Master of Business Administration; Robert Femia, Bachelor of Arts in economics; Judy Huang, Doctor of Pharmacy; Kristin Kunklesomma, Bachelor of Science in nursing; Harrison Nantz, Bachelor of Arts in political science; Tyler Pennetti, Bachelor of Arts in political science; Katherine Pippitt, Bachelor of Arts in economics; Matthew Todd, Bachelor of Science in molecular and cell biology; and Lina Posada, Bachelor of Science in finance.